Cornmeal-Lime Cookies

IMG_2813

I have a bit of a bad habit: whenever I look at the operating hours of a place, I end up planning to get there five minutes before they close. Then I run late (of course) and blindly hope that they’ll stay open a few minutes later so I can sneak in.

Back when I was in Boston, I used to love-hate going to Flour Bakery on Mass Ave. I loved going – if they were open. But half the time, I’d get there fifteen minutes after they closed and stare in longingly as employees packed away the pastries. When I finally got my hands on the Flour Bakery cookbook, I reveled in the fact that I would never have to be punctual again. All of my favorite Boston bakery recipes could available in large quantities (…within six hours).

Well it turns out lack of punctuality runs in the family. The other day, my parents drafted me to make desserts for a brunch with family friends. The brunch started at 10am…we got there at noon. Whoops. Despite the fact everyone had already eaten their fill and then some, these cookies were still a huge hit. They’re a tangy, sweet reminder of the good times I had in Boston, and best of all, they’re super easy to make :)

Cornmeal-Lime Cookies (adapted from the Flour Bakery Cookbook by Joanne Chang) – makes 14-16 huge cookies*
*literally, these cookies were so big, everyone thought they were scones

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temp (room temp not necessary if you have an electric beater)
3/4 cup sugar
2 tbsp finely grated lime zest (I used 3 tbsp)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornmeal
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

Lime Glaze
1 cup confectioners sugar
2 tsp water
2 tbsp lime juice
1 1/2 tsp finely grated lime zest

(She says about 5 limes are needed total. I used 2.5 big limes.)

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. Using electric mixer, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy (~5 min). Add lime zest and beat for another minute. Add the vanilla and eggs and beat until well-incorporated (~2-3 min).

3. In another bowl, mix flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt. Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet mixture, then mix until flour is incorporated. (Don’t over-mix!)

4. Drop ~2 tbsp balls of dough on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet, then flatten each ball slightly. Spread them about 2 in apart.

5. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until pale brown on the edges. (Start watching at 18 min). Let cool to room temperature before glazing.

6. Mix together the glaze ingredients in a bowl. Brush the cookies with a thin layer of glaze and allow glaze to set for 10 minutes.

Cookies can be stored in airtight container at room temp for up to 3 days, and in a refrigerator for up to 1 week.

2 thoughts on “Cornmeal-Lime Cookies

Leave a Reply

