Same Words, New Story

IMG_2517

Recently, I dusted off and reread Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. I had first tackled it in 2003, when I was a snarky sixth grader who prided myself on being precocious when really, I was just pretentious. At that time, I was a notorious speed reader, competing against other similarly smart-aleck kids to devour as many Redwall books as possible within a month, or finish Lord of the Rings within three days. I loved to read… but maybe not for the totally right reasons.

As you can guess, I completely forgot what Strange and Norrell was even about a few months after I had “read” it.

What I do remember is that when I first attempted it, I allowed myself to be caught up in the action without ever wondering why Clarke had written the book. And since most other books I read in early middle school were populated by heroes and had predictably happy endings, I naively assumed that Clarke’s book, because it was a fantasy novel, must end in a similar fashion.

The second time around, the feeling of the ending was different from what I remembered. I distinctly recall I had believed that the book had an unfinished but hopeful quality and would be followed by a sequel. But this time, I had tears in my eyes.

There are the big moments in your life, when you fully realize that you are taking a step that can never be retracted. Then there are the quieter moments of realization, when it becomes clear that somewhere along the way, you have irrevocably changed. I looked back and saw that though I will perhaps always be too trusting, I have also become more prone to question voices of authority.

I don’t think my interpretation of Strange and Norrell the first time was wrong – at the time, I needed the fantastical, magical escape from mundane middle school life, so that was the aspect of the book that resonated with me the most. But this time around, I was stunned at all the imagery associated with ‘choice’: multiple scenes involving an infinite number of shadowy pathways, forest roads with enchantments of temptation, and the appearance of new fairy roads as magic returned to Britain, offering new possibilities in careers and lifestyle that had not existed before.

It’s 2014 and I am still just a little (or a lot) pretentious and I still do love to read. My tastes in books have changed – they all seem to involve the words “globalism” or “imperialism” or some other -ism – but I hope that in the next 10 years, as I reread half-forgotten old favorites, I will still maintain a mind open enough to glean some new insight each time.

Sautéed Mushroom and Silken Tofu Salad (adapted from Lady and Pups) – makes 2 light entrée-sized servings

350 g assorted mushrooms

3 tbsp olive oil

3-4 cloves garlic, minced

Dash of salt and ground black pepper

1 box silken tofu, diced into small squares

Assorted salad greens

Lightly coat mushrooms in olive oil, salt and pepper. Heat pan over medium heat, then add mushrooms. When mushrooms are soft, add garlic and cook until mushrooms and garlic have browned.

For the dressing:

2 tsp miso paste

1 tsp toasted sesame paste (I substituted almond butter and it still tasted delicious!)

1 tsp sesame oil

1/4 tsp dashi granule

1 tsp sesame seeds

1 tsp Japanese sushi rice vinegar

1/4 tsp grated ginger (or more, to taste)

1/2 tsp honey

2-3 tsp of water, as needed

Evenly whisk all ingredients together.

Make a bed of salad greens on the plate. Add warm mushrooms and tofu on top. Drizzle on dressing, add a sprinkling of sesame seeds, and serve.

Leave a Reply

