Back with a Bundt

Image

…oh man, I don’t even know if that can be classified as a pun, it’s that bad.

I was debating whether or not to continue my blog during the summer. After all, the original premise was “food you can make in the dorm.” My house is better-stocked than a three-star restaurant’s kitchen, thanks to my dad, who loves all things gourmet. Seriously though, he just bought a sous-vide machine. You know who uses sous-vide machines? Thomas Keller, of The French Laundry fame. Last week I had no idea what “sous-vide” even meant, but now we’re enjoying meat and fish cooked in vacuum bags submerged in a water bath at a low temperature for a long period of time, ensuring that the entire cut is cooked completely evenly. I want to say it sounds fancier than it is, but it is exactly as fancy as it sounds.

My dad also has a blow torch that he uses liberally. Shit gets serious in my family’s kitchen.

But since coming home, I’ve actually been doing a lot of cooking. And despite all the crazy equipment my dad has, I’ve realized that since I don’t know how to use any of it, my blog won’t suddenly become some unattainable gourmet blog. It’s going to stay relatively simple, and better yet, the recipes will hopefully be healthier as I try to help my family lose a couple pounds and get more in shape. (…says the one who went to the gym all of two times this semester.)

Eating healthier could never stop me from baking. I held out for a week, but the sale on King Arthur flour was clearly a sign for the heavens telling me I needed to whip out the mixing bowl and make something sweet. I flipped through recipes until I found a butter-free recipe. This orange olive oil bundt cake is so delicious, I’ve already eaten three (small!) slices. And since it contains olive oil and greek yogurt, it’s obviously totally healthy.

Orange Olive Oil Bundt (adapted from Milk and Honey)

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 large eggs, separated

2 cups powdered sugar

1 cup greek yogurt

3/4 cup good-quality extra-virgin olive oil

Freshly grated zest of 3 oranges

1 tsp almond extract (I didn’t have any so I used vanilla extract)

Glaze

2 cups powdered sugar

1-2 tbsp greek yogurt

1/2 tsp almond extract (I replaced with vanilla extract)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Spray the inside of 10-in Bundt pan with nonstick cooking spray. (I used unsalted butter.)

Sift flour, baking powder, and salt together over a large bowl. Set aside.

Using an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the egg yolks until they are pale and creamy. Slowly add in the sugar and continue mixing until it is completely incorporated. Add the yogurt and olive oil and mix thoroughly. Add the orange zest and almost extract, and mix until just incorporated.

Add the flour mixture to the west ingredients in two parts, beating after each addition until just combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and beat again for a few seconds.

Whisk the egg whites and beat until stiff peaks form. Scoop 1 cup of the egg whites into the batter. Use a rubber spatula to gently fold them in, carefully turning the bowl with each fold, until just incorporated. Add the remaining egg whites and repeat. Fold gently, being careful not to knock too much air out of the mixture.

Pour the batter into the Bundt pan and bake for 40-50 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through, until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Leave the cake to cool in the tin for about 10 minutes. Tap the pan and shake it a little then turn it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Sift the icing sugar into a bowl and add the almond extract and yogurt to create a glaze the consistency of cream. Drizzle the glaze on the cooled cake.

One thought on “Back with a Bundt

  1. Pingback: Easy Crostini | kitchen whimsies

Leave a Reply

