My Drunk Kitchen(whimsies) Pt. 2

scones!

Before you say anything, why yes, it is a Monday night.

Why yes, it is finals week.

But you know what? I just finished the hardest final of my life. Literally, studied for three days, still felt unprepared. I’ve never felt more inadequate or unintelligent in my life. The name of the bane of my existence: Statistics.

I know, I know. Freshmen take Stats. It’s an intro-level course. And yet, I spent hours and hours on the homework, spent hours and hours reviewing for each test, spent hours and hours stressing and worrying and skipping my other classes just to study a little bit more. And when I wasn’t stressing, I was wondering why an intro-level class was so unbelievably difficult. There were days when I thought about dropping it, about just dropping the Econ major all together. But somehow, I fought through.

Every person has his uphill battle. For me, it was an intro-level Economics course. Some part of me still feels ridiculously stupid, but another part of me kind of can’t believe that somehow, I finished the course. That somehow, I was able to overcome my intellectual shortcomings and actually learn a lot more than I thought I could.

So whatever, a girl can drunk bake and celebrate if she wants. I might have accidentally burned myself on the oven door, but hey, if there’s one thing this semester has taught me, it’s that “no pain, no gain” isn’t just another trite cliché.

The star of tonight’s episode of Drunk Kitchen(whimsies) is a buttery, sweet, and fluffy chocolate chip scone recipe. Also, if I made them while drunk, you know it’s a ridiculously easy recipe. You use your hands, one bowl, and seven ingredients, and somehow, something delicious emerges from the oven. I prefer this recipe, but then again, I was drunk. Sometimes you double the salt, sometimes you double the butter, and sometimes you totally forget to put in the flour. (Yes, I have done all of these things while drunk.)

All right, it’s time for Dref to pass out, sleep for a few hours, then re-enter the vicious (and yet oddly gratifying) cycle of feverish studying and test-taking.

fresh out of the oven :)

Chocolate Chip Cream Scones (adapted from the Food Librarian) – makes 16 small scones

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick butter (cold, cut into pieces)

1 cup heavy whipping cream (cold)

1/2-3/4 cups chocolate chips

Egg wash

1 egg, lightly beaten

Sugar, for sprinkling

1. Preheat oven to 425 F.

2. Mix together dry ingredients.

3. Using fingers, cut the butter into the dry ingredients.

4. Add whipping cream and chocolate chips. Blend together with hands or a spatula. Do not overmix.

5. Shape into a round or a square.

6. Brush with egg wash, then sprinkle with sugar.

7. Cut into shapes, then place on parchment.

8. Bake for 14-16 minutes until golden brown.

(I used my leftover egg wash and made a baby-sized serving of scrambled eggs) :)

One thought on “My Drunk Kitchen(whimsies) Pt. 2

  1. Pingback: Captivated by Caraway | kitchen whimsies

Leave a Reply

