To Evenings with Nina and the Stepfather

blueberry scones!

The other day, my dear friend Nina sent me a ridiculously easy scone recipe. It was so ridiculously easy, I almost didn’t try it for fear that I’d waste ingredients in creating some weird dense pastry masquerading as a scone.

Nina, I publicly apologize for doubting you. I should have known that in your time across the pond, you’ve become a true scone connoisseur with the master recipe. These scones were absolutely amazing. Literally they were so good I dedicated this post to Nina. (Also because I miss her and I miss co-hosting our awesome radio show.)

Just a little backstory on the bizarre wonder that is our radio show: first off, it’s called “Evenings with Nina and the Stepfather.” We used to be on air in the morning. Secondly, our tagline was “teaching life lessons through music.” Our radio station didn’t know how to categorize that, so they put us in the “World” music category. To be fair, I don’t even know how I’d categorize the show. Sometimes it’s K-Pop, most of the time it’s a mix of depressing emo-indie music and happy 80s rock. Basically, an hour-long broadcast of our personalities, in the best way possible.

In case you couldn’t tell, I miss Nina and all my other abroad friends way too much right now. It’s been a strange semester without my friends who’ve been beside me since Day 1 of college. Perhaps the most important life lesson I’ve learned this semester is that my friends define a significant part of who I am – a part that I took for granted before they all left for exotic locales around the globe.

Though I am happy I stayed, there’s many moments when I wish they were here, or that I had decided to study abroad (especially when I see pictures of Amsterdam and Paris and Prague and Barcelona. I’m so jealous of all your lives right now). So if it’s any incentive, I will be here, in the States, making scones (and all kinds of other baked goods) and waiting for your return.

Blueberry Scones (adapted from The Hairpin) – makes ~20 small scones

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp + 1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup toppings (I used blueberries, you can use chocolate chips, raisins, whatever you want!)*
2 cups (=1 pint) cold whipping cream

*I used fresh blueberries, so to balance out the additional moisture, I rolled them in flour before I put them into the dough mixture to absorb some of the moisture.

1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease baking sheets. If you have a stainless steel bowl, chill in the freezer for at least an hour beforehand.

2. Sift dry ingredients into a medium-sized bowl, then mix in fillings. Whip the heavy cream in the stainless steel bowl until it’s frothy.

3. Fold the cream into the dry mix, being careful not to overmix.

4. Form the dough into a ball, then pat down to a thickness of about one inch. Cut into wedges of desired size. (For large scones, form dough into a ball, for medium scones, form into two balls, for small scones, form into four balls.)

5. Bake until just a bit golden on top, 18-20 minutes.

3 thoughts on “To Evenings with Nina and the Stepfather

  1. Pingback: My Drunk Kitchen(whimsies) Pt. 2 | kitchen whimsies

  2. Pingback: Captivated by Caraway | kitchen whimsies

Leave a Reply

