Nutella-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Image

I can still remember the first time I ever had Nutella.

I was in sixth grade, attending what amounted to summer school (what can I say, I’m Asian), and my French teacher brought in délicatesses françaises that she had purchased directly from France. It was my first time experiencing soft cheese spreads, real French chocolate, and of course, Nutella.

Believe it or not kids, when I was young, you couldn’t just buy Nutella from the supermarket. It was a specialty item. Only one girl had ever had it before. When she squealed with excitement, I wondered how some nut-based spread could inspire more reaction than the spread of pain chocolat and fruit tarts.

Anyways, I calmly spread a dollop of Nutella onto my baguette, placed it in my mouth, and experienced a revelation. Because of this one French class, because of that bite of Nutella, I began my delicious descent into food snobbery.

Okay, so maybe that’s a slight exaggeration. But Nutella is worth the adulation. And so are these cookies, chewy chocolate chip cookies with a sprinkle of salt and a gooey Nutella center.

Image

Nutella-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Annie’s Eats) – makes about two dozen

~1/2 cup Nutella
1 cup unsalted butter
2 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt (or table salt) plus more for sprinkling
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
2 1/2 – 3 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbsp greek yogurt or sour cream
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips

1. Line baking sheet with wax or parchment paper. Place Nutella in plastic bag towards one corner of the bag. Twist so it does not squeeze out the top. Snip one corner off the end of the bag. Pipe about 2 dozen small dollops (about 1/2 tbsp) onto wax paper. Transfer the baking sheet to the freezer and let sit until firm, about 2 hours.

2. Place butter in a medium to large skillet over medium heat. Melt the butter completely, continue to cook, whisking frequently, until the butter foams, bubbles slightly, and begins to brown. Continue whisking until the butter is evenly browned, being careful not to burn. Remove from the heat and let cool.

3. Line baking sheets with parchment paper (I skipped this step, and it just made the bottoms of the cookies a little crispier).

4. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.

5. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine sugars and brown butter. Mix on medium speed until well-blended and smooth. Blend in the egg and egg yolk, scraping down bowl as needed. Blend in vanilla and greek yogurt.

6. With the mixer on low speed, blend in the dry ingredients until just incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips. Chill the dough briefly, about 30 minutes.

7. Preheat the oven to 350 F.

8. Scoop about 2 tbsp of cookie dough, then press an indentation into the center of the dough ball to create a bowl shape. Place a dollop of frozen Nutella in the indentation and pinch together the edges of the cookie dough over the top to completely seal it in the center.

9. Place the shaped cookies on the prepared baking sheets, 2-3 inches apart. Bake until the cookies are golden brown and set, rotating the pans halfway through, about 14 minutes total. When the cookies are done baking, sprinkle lightly with salt. Let sit a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Notes:

1. To save time, I didn’t freeze the Nutella and the Nutella ended up seeping into the dough. To achieve a more gooey center, definitely freeze the Nutella.

2. Because I mixed in the butter while it was still warm, my cookies ended up marbled because the chocolate chips partially melted. However, they still tasted delicious!

2 thoughts on “Nutella-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I’m crying I’m sitting at my desk and I’m crying even though there may be times it seems I’m far away never wonder where I am, cause I am always by your side, for i am your lady, and you are my nutella stuffed chocolate chip cookie

  2. Pingback: The New Nutella | kitchen whimsies

Leave a Reply

