Winter Fixes

Here’s an easy, delicious, and best of all, cheesy recipe for chicken parmesan.

I originally had this awesome little story for you about my obsession with apple cider, except, oh wait, I wrote it before the world “ended” on December 12, 2012, so the post just really didn’t make sense anymore. I’m a little bitter I forgot to publish it, so instead of writing a new post, I’m just going to say this chicken parmesan was really delicious back in December and I’m sure it’ll be just as good if you make it now. It’s also perfect because everything leafy and green is dead in New England, and I don’t know about you, but after eating my twentieth meal consisting of root vegetables, I may actually be starting to hate potatoes.

Another sad fact: that lettuce that you see underneath the chicken was one of our last harvests before the frost came and killed everything, even the spinach.

Chicken Parmesan (adapted from A Sweet Pea Chef)

2 chicken breasts halves, boneless and skinless

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I used Panko crumbs)

1 tbsp dried oregano

1 tbsp dried basil

1 tbsp dried thyme

2 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp ground black pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

2 cups tomato sauce

4 oz fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced

2 tbsp grated parmesan

1. Preheat the oven to 500 F.

2. Combine the herbs, salt, pepper, and bread crumbs into a shallow bowl to blend. Cover chicken breasts with mixture and shake off any excess.

3. Heat olive oil in large oven-proof skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook until brown (I did until golden), about 3 minutes per side. Remove skillet from heat

4. Spoon marinara sauce over and around chicken. Sprinkle parmesan over each chicken breast. Cover each chicken breast with mozzarella slices.

5. Bake, covered with foil, for 10 minutes then uncovered for 5 minutes, until the cheese melts and the chicken is cooked through.

Leave a Reply

