I’m Back, Bitches.

Image

I thought I knew what busy was. I thought that stress was a familiar concept.

Oh how wrong I was. How woefully wrong.

It started this weekend when my friend found a white hair, and I realized that perhaps for the first time in my life, I felt truly stressed. Let me give you the rundown: 5 midterms in the next two weeks and 1 conference on sustainability that the garden club is hosting, which means calling just about every place in a 10-mile radius to make sure we have everything before this Saturday. It’s been tense.

There have been some silver linings along the way. I’ve discovered that I actually can be productive, as all this stress has guilted me out of even attempting to procrastinate. And miraculously, I’m now ahead of schedule.

So how did I use this extra time? Well I sat around for a bit, reveling in this completely foreign concept of being “ahead,” then I procrastinated, productively. I say productive because, well, now I have like three dozen oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and this rambling blog post. And let me just say, these cookies are worth the fact that I’ll probably be up again past 3AM. I make these whenever I feel stressed because they are the perfect comfort cookie: chewy but not too dense, deliciously full of chocolate, but also healthy (or so I tell myself) because of the oatmeal.

So you can call it a relapse to my addiction to sweets, to my impressive capacity to not get work done, you can call it whatever you want. I prefer to see it as a positive evolution of a bad habit.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from the Brown-Eyed Baker)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter (I used 3/4 cup)
1 cup light brown sugar (I used 3/4 cup)
1 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract (and an extra dash if you love vanilla, like me!)
3 cups old-fashioned oats
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper (I just buttered my sheets and the cookies came out a little brown on the bottom, but still delicious)

2. Whisk the flour, baking power, and salt in a small bowl; set aside.

3. Cream together the butter and both sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Beat in the eggs (one at a time), then mix in the vanilla.

4. Stir in the flour mixture with a wooden spoon or large rubber spatula, then stir in the oats and chocolate chips.

5. Using 2 heaping tbsp per cookie (I did 1 tbsp for a larger quantity of smaller cookies), roll the dough into balls and place on the baking sheets, spacing them about 2 inches apart. Bake until the cookie edges begin to turn golden-brown but the middles are still quite pale, about 12-14 minutes. Rotate the sheets halfway through the baking time.

6. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets for 2 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to cool for at least 30 minutes. Cookies can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

