An Ode to Muffin Tins

Since coming to college, the muffin tin has become my favorite baking appliance.

It’s been a fantastic test of creativity – I may only have a muffin tin, but that doesn’t mean I can’t fill it with all kinds of doughs and play around with the baking time. Chocolate molten cakes? Sure. Roasted tomatoes? It’s been done. Chocolate chip cookies? Hell yeah. Who needs baking sheets and springform pans when a muffin tin does it all – and in the perfect serving size?

So today I’m bringing you Pumpkin Pie in a Muffin Tin. I had my pie tin all ready to go, but I was tired and it was so beautiful outside, I didn’t want to spend my day inside laboring over a flaky pie crust. So instead, I got out my trusty muffin tin, scrapped the crust, and just made pumpkin pie filling.

And like all confections made in a muffin tin, it was delicious.

Muffin Tin Pumpkin Pie (adapted from The Baker Chick) – makes 12

2/3 cup all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (I did 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp nutmeg)
1 15-oz can pumpkin puree
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup half&half

1. Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper or silicone liners.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flower, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and pumpkin pie spice.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree, sugar, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, and half&half until well combined.

4. Add in dry ingredients and whisk until no streaks of flour remain and the batter is smooth.

5. Distribute batter evenly in the muffin tin. (Fill 3/4 full.)

6. Bake for 20 minutes. Cool cupcakes in the pan. (They will sink as they cool.)

7. Chill cupcakes before serving. Top with lightly sweetened whipped cream.

One thought on “An Ode to Muffin Tins

Leave a Reply

