Apple Cinnamon Muffins

ImageToday was one of those cheerless, uninspired days. It started with the rude realization that I had left my window open and the night’s rain had utterly soaked half my blanket, and then I headed to my 9am class, where we discussed the Jim Crow Laws.

Turns out the South didn’t used to be quite so racist, and white supremacy was actually used as a political tool to keep poor whites and blacks from uniting against the conservative elites. Between the Civil War and 1890, whites and blacks in the South actually lived intermingled and in relative harmony. Leave it up to the politicians to use something as heinous as white supremacy simply to win an election.

It then proceeded to rain for the whole day, so by late afternoon, I was not in the best of moods. Then I looked at the table, where I saw some apples strewn across the surface. And that’s when the idea hit me: what I needed was some comfort in the form of cinnamon apple. I grabbed my muffin tin, then preset the oven to 350 degrees.

And the rest is history.

fresh out of the oven :)

Apple Cinnamon Muffins (adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything) – makes 12

2 cups sugar (I used 1 3/4 cups)

2 eggs

1 cup oil

1 Tbsp vanilla

3 cups flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon (I also put in a dash of nutmeg)

3 cups peeled, cored, and diced apples (I used 3 apples)

Brown sugar for topping (Eh I skipped this but they still came out great!)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F, line muffin pan with paper liners

2. Cream together sugar, eggs, oil, and vanilla. Sift flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. (Or don’t sift.) Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture and mix until combined. The batter will be very (super) thick. Add the diced apples. (I coated the apples in cinnamon before mixing them in for some extra cinnamon kick.)

3. Fill paper liners almost to the top, about 3/4 of the way full. Sprinkle with brown sugar. (I filled mine up all the way for the bigger dome and I skipped the brown sugar.)

4. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-24 minutes. Makes 18 muffins.

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Muffins

  1. These muffins were truly delicious. While I was eating them I felt like I was on a spaceship floating through the galaxy.

Leave a Reply

